#itsgood2eatcake ♥

Last night was my second event with the Edinburgh bakers, which happened to be a charity event this time in aid of the local Edinburgh based charity It’s good 2 give!! run by the wonderfully dedicated Lynne McNicollwho help to support young people with cancer and their families in various ways whilst they’re having their treatment.

This event which I’m unofficially naming by it’s twitter hashtag, #itsgood2eatcake (best hashtag ever) was held at Cafe Musa which is run by the very lovely Sue Mitchell and the evening itself was organised by the the very glamorous Wilma Webster – who along with a few others are going to be climbing  mount kilimanjaro later in the year for the charity – and was an amazing evening filled with tasty cake, raffles, teas,magicians, great company and oh the odd glass of fizz thrown in for good measure 🙂 x Which all helped to raise a lot of money for a very worthwhile cause ♥♥

I was fortunate enough to be asked if I would take some photos of all the cakes, so that Alison who usually takes them could concentrate on eating (oh, I mean serving) cake! ;p I took to my duty like Phoebe Buffay from friends when she was put in charge of cups at a party and set myself up a little makeshift studio in a corner of the cafe…..haha x Mainly to get the chance to drool at some of the creations for a while and work out which cakes I would devour afterwards 🙂 x

So here is a selection of the cakes we had to choose from x

I want to make a special mention to one cake in particular, made and beautifully decorated by Lou Ellard at Loulabelle Bakes which was the star prize in the raffle!! Which I didn’t win 😦 x Pictured below: Isn’t it gorgeous??? x

Its good to eat cake_0046_edited-1

45 thoughts on “#itsgood2eatcake ♥

  1. It’s most def great to eat cake. But omg how hard would it be to decide which one you want?!
    I think i would go with fruits or chocolate ones. 😀

  2. Loving the one covered in Smarties. Do you know what sort of icing they were stuck to? Was it buttercream or possibly stuck onto an iced cake with royal? Thanks!

  3. It is indeed good to eat cake! Wonderful photos and congrats on the honor 🙂 They made an excellent choice in photographer.

  4. The cakes look fantastic! Some excellent bakers there, looks like you had a good time and obviously raised lots of money for a great cause!

  5. OMG…I want that mega berry one. Ohhhh…that has me drooling.

    I admit, I want to try that one with the pistachio nuts on it….sound … interesting lol.

    And I do think they picked an EXCELLENT photographer for this. From your previous food blogs I KNOW your photos are always great. 🙂

    • Thanks Katie,
      The berry one was amazing, I am told it tasted as good as it looked (As I was on a diet and only had one small piece of another cake) x
      I’m really pleased with how the photos came out, a lot of responsibility to get them right x ;p

  6. Pingback: Its Good to Eat Cake!! | Queen of Everything

  7. Pingback: More cake!!!!! #ItsGood2EatCake2 | A small insight

  8. Your great photography almost made me feel like I was there. Wish I could put my hand through the computer screen and sample a few of those lovely goodies. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

