Mamma’s fruit loaf

Ok, I don’t actually call her Mamma, just Mum x But Mamma sounds so much better, don’t you think? heehee x

When I first started baking this time last year my Mum wrote down here recipe for Fruit loaf and it’s been pinned to my notice board ever since waiting patiently for me to get round to trying it out!! I’m not sure it is quite up to her standards yet, but I think I’ve done not bad for a first attempt and will play around and perfect it to my own tastes in the years to come x

Fruit loaf

Ingredients:

  • ½llb Unsalted butter
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 2 cups Sultanas
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon Bicarbonate of soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups self raising flour

Fruit loaf

Method:

  1. Line a loaf tin with backing parchment.
  2. In a medium heavy pan add the butter, sugar, sultanas, water and bicarbonate of soda on a medium heat until the sugar has dissolved and the butter has melted, then turn up the temperature to full and bring to the boil, then continue boiling for 10 minutes. Set aside to cool for a couple of hours.
  3. Beat the eggs and them to the mixture, add the flour and mix well.
  4. Transfer mixture to the loaf tin and place in the oven at 170°C for 1½ hours.

Fruit loaf

I like mine with lashings of butter and a pot of tea x

Thanks Mum xx 🙂

How do you like yours?

37 thoughts on “Mamma’s fruit loaf

  1. When I first saw your post this totally reminded me of when I was kid, my Grandmother would make “Brown Bread”…this brown in color bread, with raisins and molasses was baked in a can, like vegetables would come… and we would slice it and put butter on it!! Love this recipe Thank you!!! 🙂

  2. i love tea loaf…actually i think i would eat that whole loaf in one sitting…with a whole pack of unsalted butter!

    • I had a good go at eating mine in one sitting too, Victoria!! As you will know by now, I like my cake!! And the amount of butter I went through can not be good for my cholesterol levels :\

  3. OH! Now you have made me want to cook a teabread I used to make (a VERY long time ago). Such a great ‘in the tin for when you need a bite’ food. So nice that you have this. My Mum’s recipes are Italian and wonderful but I grew up in England and I taught myself to cook from cookbooks, so I have lots of these olde worlde recipes that are dear to me. Lovely 🙂

    • It is always nice to have some in a cake tin, I love that it lasts for so long and means there is always cake to hand when I’ve not had time to make fresh!! 😉 x

  4. I made an old red cross tea loaf recipe recently – I love the idea of recipes being passed down, mutating and taking stories with them. This looks delicious – really nice and sticky. Also, “lashings of butter” makes me think of the Famous Five. Yey!

    Ps. Thanks for visiting my blog I hope you liked the bakes on there. I’ve added your delicious meanderings to my bloglovin feed. x

    • Thanks for taking the time to stop by and perusing my little blog too x
      I think it must have been the famous five that i got that from actually, or the French and Saunders version a few year ago!! ;p x

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog and this looks like delicious + easy to make! I’m sure it would taste good with a dash of rum, especially if the raisins are soaked in it : )

  6. Pingback: Brown Bread!! | Come Cook With Me

Leave a Reply

