Ginger Loaf x

My friend Jennifer shared a recipe with me some time ago for her tasty Ginger loaves. I’ve made them several times and I have meant to share them with you, but they never seem to last long enough to get any photos of them because they are soooooo tasty πŸ™‚ x But I made 8 mini loaves yesterday and still had 6 left this morning so I thought I’d better get some photos taken pronto xx ;p This recipe is actually for one large loaf, but I have found it works well for mini ones too, just remember they won’t take quite as long to bake x

Ginger loaves

Ingedients:

  • 200g/7oz Self Raising Flour
  • 200g/7oz Sugar
  • 1tsp Ground Ginger
  • 1tsp Bicarbonate Soda
  • 55g/2oz Margarine
  • 1 Egg Beaten
  • 2tbsp Golden Syrup
  • 240ml/9fl oz Hot Water

Ginger loaves

Method:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180oc
  2. Grease and line 11x7ins baking tin
  3. Mix the flour, sugar, ginger and bicarbonate soda in a bowl.
  4. Rub margarine in until it resembles breadcrumbs.
  5. Add beaten egg, syrup and hot water. Mix well with wooden spoon.
  6. Pour into tin and bake for 35-40 mins.

Ginger loaves

56 thoughts on “Ginger Loaf x

  1. Thank you for this – I was thinking about making ginger cake yesterday, and you’ve saved me a recipe hunt. Just have to get some golden syrup. The pic on the front of the tin always intrigues me – have you ever really looked at it?

  2. I found a recipe from Mrs. Beeton’s cookery book, and it said about Yorkshire ginger cake, I was thinking to bake that too, and yours looks very tasty too. Anyway what is the different between Yorkshire ginger cake and yours? I have bake it before obviously didn’t know how it looks like and its taste.

    • Thanks, I think it is just more traditional to use margarine in Scottish recipes, feel free to substitute in butter, it won’t make much difference I don’t think xx

  3. Question from a (sometimes ignorant) American: what is golden syrup? Is a darker, deeper flavored honey or closer to molasses? Trying to determine what I might sub for lacking the ingredient here in Arizona. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Katie, I have done a little research and it seems it is available is select stores in the US!! It seems to be compared to light molasses mostly, but there is a product that seems to claim to be exactly the same called Kings syrup, which is made in Baltimore!! I hope this helps, let me know if you find some xx

      • Thanks! I’ll have to look for some…I also found a few brands on amazon I can try. Is Lyles a good brand? I’m always willing to try a new product. Thanks, Lucy!

      • Lyles is the best, I believe them when the say there is no equivalent in the US/indeed the world, it is unique and amazing!! If you can get your hands on the real thing, you will thank me for bringing it into your life!! xx Good luck x

  4. Ohh, I do something similar when I am baking a banana nut – chocolate chip bread. The recipe calls for a bread loaf pan … but instead I place the mixture into 8 mini round clay dishes to back. It makes individual cakes…and it does take a lot faster to cook.

Leave a Reply

