Cinder toffee

Or Puff candy? Not totally sure what to call this honeycomb delight!! Cinder toffee always reminds me of the couple of years I lived in York when I was a newly wed!! There was an amazing sweet shop right by the entrance to York minster, that sold huge bags of cinder toffee and chocolate covered puff candy!! They became a regular treat for us at weekends xx

Cinder toffee

I’ve had to play around a bit to come up with a working recipe that tastes as good as the shop bought versions that I’m used too!! And I’m pretty happy with my final recipe, it’s very close in taste and texture to my memories!!

Cinder toffee

Ingredients:

  • 500g caster sugar
  • 225g golden syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 90ml water
  • 1 tbsp bicarbonate of soda

Cinder toffee

Method:
1) Grease a 20x30cm tin, then line the bottom and sides with baking parchment, making sure the parchment sides are at least 5cm above the sides of the tin. Grease the parchment with a little more butter or oil.
2) Add sugar, golden syrup, vanilla and water to a deep, heavy bottomed saucepan. Bring the mixture to the boil, but do not stir. Boil until it reaches the hard crack stage (153ºC), about 10 minutes. During boiling, if there are any sugar crystals on the sides of the pan, brush the sides of the pan with a clean pastry brush dipped in water.
3) Remove from heat and working quickly, add the bicarbonate of soda, whisking to incorporate. The mixture will bubble when adding the bicarbonate of soda, so mind the hot toffee. Immediately pour into the prepared tin. Let cool and set completely before touching. Break into pieces and serve. Store at room temperature in an airtight container.

Cinder toffee

Do any of you have a recipe to share with me?

Or know of any other ingredients that may be worth experimenting with to perfect my recipe?

I’d love to hear from you if you do xx

Cinder toffee

32 thoughts on “Cinder toffee

  1. thank you for posting the ingredients – my partner and my son keep trying to make this with varying degrees of success and tooth/filling issues! I think it’s the amount of water they keep getting wrong – I’ll let you know if they manage to get this one right 🙂

  2. It is so lovely to make and eat with still a little warm. I used to make this with my children and their friends when they were little. The wonder on their faces as the confection blossomed in front of them 🙂

  3. fun to see your gorgeously sweet creations 🙂 have been wanting to make these since forever and looks like I’ve found a recipe–yay. Is there ANY American sub for the golden syrup? I’ve read “no,” but wondering what you think. Appreciate your visits to foodforfun for the beet brownies, etc. Love meeting new food folk.

    • Thanks for coming and visiting me, let me know how the Cinder toffee turns out for you xx Seemingly it is possible to get Golden syrup in the US (don’t ask me where?) but I did some googling and the closest you seem to have if you can’t find it is Light molasses …….seemingly x I have my fingers crossed for you xx

      • Appreciate you checking! I think I’ll hunt down the real deal as it shouldn’t be too impossibly hard to find. Will report back when I do make the candy. Saw you stopped by foodforfun for Andrew McCarhty’s banana bread. Thanks for coming over 🙂

  4. In New Zealand this is called hokey pokey. We LOVE it! We even have a hokey pokey ice cream flavour! The recipe I have isn’t very effective though. It always ends up a little droopy and the bubbles are so tiny that it is really quite dense. But judging by your pics this recipe is worth trying! I’ve never seen one that had water in it before. Also, thanks for stopping by my post!!

    • heehee…..what a fun name, hokey pokey xx Let me know if you try out this recipe xx Just make sure you use a very big pan as it grows a lot when you add the bicarbonate of soda!! I think I will try a little less at my next attempt x

      • Ooh okay I wonder if I have a big enough pan. Would a wok be alright? Or would the shape of it affect things? I could always try doing half-recipe first and seeing how it goes.

      • Yes, a wok would probably work or you could just reduce the amount of Bicarbonate of soda a little so it doesn’t grow so much!! I plan to try that on my next attempt as I felt you could taste it slightly in the toffee x I hope it goes well for you 🙂 x

  5. I’ve been looking for a good cinder toffee recipe ever since I had some when I was in Scotland last – I’ve not had much success in the past, so I’ll give this a try =]

Leave a Reply

