Pistachio and almond nougat

The next recipe for your delight, is this rather tasty and gooey pistachio and almond nougat. It is a little more complicated than the usual recipes I post, but surprisingly easy with a good thermometer!! x And it’s full of nuts, so I’m sure it will count towards your 5 a day…..heehee x

Pistachio nougat

Ingredients:

  • Groundnut (peanut) oil, for greasing
  • Rice paper (I used baking parchment)
  • 375g caster sugar
  • 25g glucose syrup
  • 100ml water
  • 175g honey
  • 2 egg whites
  • 250g whole almonds, lightly toasted
  • 200g pistachios, warmed
  • 5ml orange blossom water

Pistachio nougat

  1. Grease a swiss roll tin, then line with rice paper or baking parchment.
  2. Put 350g of the cater sugar, glucose syrup and water in a large, heavy pan and heat until the mixture reaches the soft-crack stage (143°C/290°F).
  3. Warm the honey in a seperate pan until it just boils, then add to the syrup and bring everything up to 143°C/290°F again.
  4. Meanwhile, whisk the egg whites with the remaining 25g sugar until stiff peaks form.
  5. Slowly pour the sugar and honey syrup into the whites in a steady stream. Tiny lumps may form, but don’t worry and continue mixing until the mixture is stiff and glossy.
  6. Add the warm nuts and orange blossom water and gently fold together.
  7. Pour the nougat into the prepared tin.
  8. Cover the mixture with more sheets of rice paper or baking parchment and weigh down with a heavy board, such as a chopping board, and weights or dishes. If the chopping board smells strongly of e.g. onions, make sure you put it on a tray or place something between it and the nougat or the nougat will take on the flavour of the onions. Leave to set for about 4 hours.
  9. Remove the weghts and board, turn out on to a chopping board and trim the sides to neaten them. Slice into bars or squares and serve. Store in an airtight container for about a week.

Pistachio nougat

35 thoughts on “Pistachio and almond nougat

  1. So excited that you posted this recipe! I couldn’t get enough when you kindly made this for us. Sooo delicious. Looking forward to giving it a try…x

    • Awwww helena, Thanks for taking the time to stop by and leave a comment, I’ve been a bit down lately and you’ve put a big smile on my face again 😀 xx Let me know how you get on if you try it xx

  2. Pingback: Pistachio and almond nougat | Dish 'n' the kitchen

  3. Hi there Lucy – thanks so much for liking my post – my first baking one, so I feel very honoured! And it’s lovely to get one from a Scot – my grandparents came here from Scotland, and I recognise in you the scottish gifting for the great afternoon tea! 🙂 I’ll enjoy making my way through your posts and trying out new things here. Thanks for visiting.
    Janet

    • Thanks Janet, it always surprises me how many people there are around the world with a Scottish heritage!! We get everywhere….heeehee x
      Let me know if you try any of my recipes, I always love to hear when someone has x
      And I’m sure in no time you will have a large selection of recipes on your blog too xx
      Lucy x

  4. Looks so delicious! Any ideas what I could substitute for the orange blossom water? I’m going to try it with egg replacer and agave to see if I can veganize it. Usually I can, but every once in a while a recipe stumps me.

    • Excuse my ignorance, but is Orange blossom water not vegan? Or is there another reason for swapping it out? x I once made this recipe and forgot to add the orange blossom water and it still tasted gorgeous, so you could just simply omit it, if you are struggling for a substitute x

Leave a Reply

