Melting moments

Ingredients:

  • 250g unsalted butter, softened
  • 60g icing sugar, sifted
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 250g plain flour
  • 60g cornflour
  • Red food colouring (the gel type works best)
  • Icing sugar, for dusting

For the filling:

  • 125ml full-fat or semi skimmed milk
  • 2 tablespoons plain flour
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 125g unsalted butter, softened
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract, or less to taste
  • about 2 tablespoons seedless raspberry jam

You will also need: 
2 baking sheets, lined with baking paper; a piping bag fitted with a star tube.

 

Method

  1. Using a wooden spoon or electric mixer, beat the butter with the icing sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the vanilla and beat for a few seconds. Sift the flour and cornflour together into the bowl and mix until smooth.
  2. Paint a straight line of red food colouring on the inside of the piping bag, from the tube to the opening of the bag. Spoon the biscuit mixture into the piping bag.
  3. Pipe into 32 swirls on the baking sheet. Each swirl should be about 5cm across and 2.5cm high. Chill in the fridge or freezer for 15 minutes to firm.
  4. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F/gas 4. Bake the biscuits for about 12 minutes or until they are pale golden. Leave for a few minutes on the baking sheet to set slightly before transferring to a wire rack to cool.
  5. To make the filling, heat the milk with the flour in a small pan, whisking constantly until the mixture boils and thickens. Whisk over very low heat for a minute to cook out the taste of the flour, then pour the mixture onto a plate. Cover closely with clingfilm to prevent a skin from forming and leave until completely cold.
  6. Beat together the sugar and butter until very pale and fluffy – about 10 minutes by hand or 4 minutes with an electric mixer. Add the thickened milk mixture and beat until light, creamy and almost white. Add the vanilla.
  7. To assemble, spread a little jam on the bases of half the biscuits. Pipe small swirls of the filling onto the bases of the remaining biscuits and sandwich pairs together. Lightly dust with icing sugar.

I got this recipe from the second series of  The Great British bake off and was really straight forward to follow, oh apart from not softening the butter sufficiently and burning out my motor in my Electric hand mixer……..oops!! But the good old Kenwood chef came to the rescue in the end x

26 thoughts on “Melting moments

  1. Oh my! I’ll have to compare this recipe with the one mom and I have been making for Xmas for years! We also have one called melting moments, and it also calls for cornstarch and butter, but I don’t remember much more. I think in fact I will be sending my mom this link along so she can experiment too… What a great coincidence!

      • Thanks, Im goin to use this as my bake this week. Would it be ok topmost this on my blog with whatever changes I make but credit you with the original recipe?

      • Hi Lucy,

        So I made the swirls but I must have done something wrong. I think the dough consistence was all wrong as it didnt really pipe well, was far too stiff. I did it the best I could and baked a few, they tasted fab but they didnt look right…..,any suggestions on what I may have done wrong????

        Peg 😁

      • Did you soften your butter enough? Hmmmmm………I’ve got my Sunday head on and not seeing solutions very clearly x
        I burnt out the motor of my electric whisk with having butter to firm……..oops x
        That’s all I can think of today xx

      • Hummmmm, possibly not. I’m definitely going to give this another bash over the next couple of weeks so ill keep an eye on that and let you know. Thanks x

  2. These are fabulous! I honestly cannot wait to try them! Can I ask what camera you used? Did you use natural light or something really fancy/a certain setting on the camera? Thanks! Lovely blog! nerdwithtaste.wordpress.com

  3. Hi, OMG these look amazing and I’m sure much tastier than Mr Kipling’s! (a weakness of mine!)…your photography is so pretty…you make me want to get my DSLR out and actually learn how to use it haha 🙂

    • Haha…..that is such a waste, get it out straight away and start playing!!! 😉 You’ll thank me once you have got the hang of it!! Promise x
      And I’ve never come across Mr Kipling’s melting moments, I’ll have to look out for them xx

Leave a Reply

