Cullen skink

Growing up this was one of my favourite foods and it’s still in my top 10 as an adult x It was one of the first recipes I ever learnt from my mum before I left home, although fish was a lot cheaper then!! x So, when my good friend Rachel asked if she could have the recipe from me at the weekend I thought, hang on……..Why don’t I put it in a blog, for everyone to see!! You’re welcome xx haha x

Ingredients:

  • 400g baby potatoes, chopped into even sized pieces
  • 1 large onion, finely diced
  • 2 good sized smoked haddock fillets (I used undyed)
  • 600g/one and a half tins of evaporated milk
  • large dollop of butter
  • handful of parsley, finely chopped
  • Large quantity of oatcakes (Optional Extra)

Method:

  1. Place potatoes, onions and fish in a large pan and add water until everything is just cover, then bring to the boil then reduce the heat until potatoes are ready, which should be about 15-20 minutes.
  2. Add the evaporated milk and bring back to the boil, then simmer for 30-40 minutes.
  3. Add parsley and butter before serving.
  4. Serve with the oatcakes.

18 thoughts on “Cullen skink

  1. Thanks for liking my recent post on raisin bread πŸ™‚ I like the look of this recipe. As with you, it was always one of our family favourites, but I never learnt to make it. Now’s my chance!

  2. Oh wow! I had totally forgotten about cullen skink! I used to hate fish when I was little – but now love it! I must try this, although will have to think what fish to use instead of Haddock (not a pacific fish!). Reminds me of growing up half a world away in Leith! Now have traded Firth of Forth for the Pacific ocean!

    • If it’s any consolation, there isn’t much Haddock left in the Atlantic either xx ;p I can’t imagine a life without Cullen skink and I hope I never have too!! x I hope you enjoy it if you get the chance to make some!! πŸ™‚ x And I’ll say Hi to Leith for you the next time I’m down there, I’m at the other end of the city xx

  3. Hi! Thanks for liking my polenta cake post!
    This sounds really good, I have never tried it. And I am addicted to oatcakes – I could eat them with everything!

  4. This sounds a lot like one of my favorite childhood recipes of Potato Soup made with Idaho potatoes from the potato capital of the US. It’s just like my mom would make and recipes I shared with friends many years ago. Thanks for the pleasant reminder. Looking forwarding to reading more from your blog.

Leave a Reply

