Strawberry tart

Hello………….I’m back!!

Most have you probably hadn’t even noticed that I had gone, but I’ve had no broadband for the last week and a bit which has been a little more than inconvenient to say the least!!!  I’ve had several blogs planned for quite a while  and I’ve been itching to share them with you!! So I’m sorry that you have had to wait so long, but I’m here now x

Today’s post is about the Strawberry tart that I made last weekend, it was extremely delicious!! And it’s already long gone….haha xx

But I think it is still worth sharing the recipe with you and as you can see I got some great photos and it looked amazing too!!!

The pastry recipe is as follows:

Ingredients

  • 250g Plain flour, plus extra to dust
  • 50g Icing sugar
  • 125g Cold unsalted butter, cut into cubes, plus extra for the tin
  • 2 Large free-range eggs
  • Dash of milk
  1. Sift the flour and icing sugar into a large mixing bowl and add the butter cubes. Using your finger tips, rub the butter in until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. At this stage, either continue with your hands or transfer to a food mixer with a dough hook.
  2. Beat together 1 of the eggs with the milk, add this to the flour mixture and mix until it just comes together into a crumbly ball of dough. Do not overwork it: it should look a little dry. Add a little more flour if needed.
  3. Shape the dough into a ball, wrap it in clingfilm and refrigerate for at least 45 minutes or up to a day.
  4. It is often necessary to ‘blind bake’ the pastry. To do this, remove the clingfilm and roll the pastry out on a floured surface,using a floured rolling pin, until 5mm thick. Use it to line a lightly buttered tart tin. Cover with clingfilm return to the rigrigerator for 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 180○C/350○F/Gas mark 4.
  5. Line the pastry with greaseproof paper and fill with baking beans or raw rice, to prevent the pastry rising. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes, until golden brown. Remove the greaseproof paper and baking beans or rice. Beat the remaining egg, use it to brush the pastry all over, then return to the oven for another 5 minutes to seal the pastry; this stops the base becoming soggy. Remove from the oven and allow to cool before filling.

And for the crème patisserie I followed this recipe:

  • 125ml milk
  • 125ml double cream
  • 1 vanilla pod or 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 15g plain flour
  1. Warm the milk and cream in a saucepan along with the vanilla pod split lengthwise. Bring to the boil, then remove from the heat, cover and let stand to infuse for 10 minutes. If you’re not using the pod, add the vanilla extract later, when you’ve combined all the ingredients.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the yolks and sugar until creamy, and then beat in the flour. With the point of a small, sharp knife, scrape the seeds out of the vanilla pod into the milk, and add this warm milk to the egg mixture and whisk until smooth.
  3. Pour back into the saucepan and stir or whisk gently over a low heat until the custard thickens. Remove from the heat and let the custard cool by pouring it into a wide bowl and tearing off some greaseproof, wetting it, then covering the bowl with it. This stops it from forming a skin.Don’t put this in the fridge: something goes horribly wrong with the texture if you do, and you want utter, smooth voluptuousness here.

For the glaze:

  • 1 cup strawberry jam
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  1. Mix jam and lemon juice in small pan, bring to the boil and keep stirring until mixture becomes quite runny.
  2. Pour mixture on to a piece of muslin or fine sieve and drain off any excess water!!!

Then all you have to do is layer them all up and voilà!! x One tasty Strawberry tart x

18 thoughts on “Strawberry tart

  1. OMG….ok, I stopped by your About page to say thank you for stopping by one of my blogs…then started to look about on your homepage…and its a food blog! Yahh. Then I came across this blog….*makes gurgly slurpy sounds in my throat*…..that looks sooooooo good.

  2. I made this tart tonight…though I made several mistakes lol.

    1) I used a tart pan with a removable bottom…and perhaps that is not best….as using pie weights sort of do not work on those pans. Ack.

    2) I think I took the tart crust out the tart tin wayyyy to early…. the sides feel…and I had to prop it up in a pie dish.

    3) I am not sure why … but it took about 30 – 35 minutes for my tart crust to cook. (I did put it on a cookie sheet as the removable tart tin needed support when I moved it.)

    It is now in the refrigerator chilling. It looks like a 2 year old made it….but I hope it tastes ok.

    Thanks again for the recipe…I will try it again later.

    • Super cool that you tried it 🙂 x

      I use a similar tart tin, did you use ceramic beans to weigh it down?
      How did you get on with the crème patisserie?
      I’m sure it will taste amazing, you made it, how could it not? 🙂

      • I have pie tin weights….but I don’t know where I put them! So I used parchment paper and rice. (Thank you for that note on your blog … I would not have thought to use rice! Oh…one thing I do with the butter when I need to add it cold…is that I actually freeze it for about 10 – 15 minutes…then grate it with a hand grater …coarse grate…and it makes it easier to incorporate.)

        Question though….do you know why my tart crust would have taken so long to have cooked? Even taking into account oven temperature differentials…it seems I must have done something wrong…what level were your oven racks on? Oh…I bet mine was too high up!

        As for the crème patisserie part….that came out brilliant…it was mmmmmm. I have some vanilla beans…but they are over a year old … so I opted to use some vanilla extract this time around.

        Sooo … it looked pretty amateurish at best (and inedible at worst) … but eat it I did…and it WAS yum. (I took some of it in to work and dished it out in little bowls before anyone could see it was supposed to be a tart lol.)

      • Great that it tasted good, it doesn’t matter how it looks in the end if it tastes yummy xx
        Rice is a good substitute for ceramic weights , but not sure why your pastry took so long to bake, possibly because the shelf wasn’t in the centre or you hadn’t rolled it thin enough. perhaps? It’s hard to tell x
        By the way, your vanilla beans will still be fine, they’ve been dried to make them last x
        Perhaps it’s just a matter of practice makes perfect, heres to the next attempt xx 🙂

Leave a Reply

