Pea soup

Yesterday I came across peas in their shells in the Supermarket and just knew I had to try a pea soup out!! For the last 4 or 5 years I have grown my own peas in my garden along with many other vegetables and I’ve really been missing harvesting them all this year since I lost my garden!!

But shelling all the peas for this recipe gave me a similar pleasure to what I am used too!! And it was a really quick and easy recipe to make after the shelling was done x

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 shallots, finely chopped
  • 1 medium leek, white and light-green parts, thinly sliced
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 3 cups shelled peas
  • 3 mint leaves
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • coarse sea salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • chives for garnish

  1. Heat the butter and oil in a large pan over a medium-low heat. Add shallots and leek. Cook until translucent and soft but not brown, about 10 minutes.
  2. Add chicken stock and bring to the boil. Add peas and cook until tender but still green, about 5 to 7 minutes. Add mint.
  3. Using a blender, purΓ©eΒ the soup in batches until silky smooth. Push through a fine-mesh sieve over a pan. Return to heat and warm.
  4. Stir in cream and season with salt and pepper. Serve hot or cold. Garnish with chopped chives.

10 thoughts on “Pea soup

    • I have to agree with you there, I love shelling my own and eating them straight from the shell too!! x But I do always have a bag of frozen on standby so I can always get my fix of this soup xx

Leave a Reply

