Guest Photographer and Coffee cake!!

I’ve had my sister Jenny and youngest nephew Luke staying with my over the last week. Luke is an amazingly talented Saxophonist and was invited to play in The World Saxophone Congress in St. Andrews last Thursday and then had a music summer school at Merchiston school here in Edinburgh for NYJOS (National Youth Jazz Orchestra of Scotland) starting on Sunday through till Thursday (yesterday). So I got to see him in 2 concerts this week and I am in awe of his talent and so proud of him!!! x

It worked out that there was a few days gap between being in St Andrews until NYJOS started in which my sister headed home and left my nephew in my (capable) hands for a few days!! We had so much fun and we really enjoyed hanging out together.

He had requested beforehand to assist me with some of my photos for the blog as he is a keen aspiring photographer. But I had other plans for him!!…….wah…hah…hah (in my best evil voice)!!! So instead of him assisting me, I had decided that I would assist him to take all the photos for my next few blogs so he would get the maximum amount of hands on experience!  So today’s blog is our first joint effort and there will be 2 others to follow over the next little while!! Oh……and there will be one more to come that I took of him showing another of his many talents too, watch this space!! xx

So firstly, we decided he would help me with this weeks baking challenge which is a coffee cake, one of my favourite cakes of all time xx So the baking and the Photography are joint efforts (mainly my nephews x) so………enjoy x

Ingredients:

  • 150g caster sugar
  • 150g butter or margarine
  • 3 eggs
  • 150g self raising flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp hot water
  • 1 tbsp instant coffee (add more if you like it strong)

Method:

1) Preheat the oven at 160C, 325 F,gas 3.Baseline and grease two equally sized sandwich tins. Add the sugar and the butter to a bowl and whisk until very fluffy and a pale cream.

2) Whisk the eggs in a mug with a fork and then add them gradually to the mixture with 1 tbsp of flour each time. Make sure you don’t use all the flour.

3) Add the rest of the flour and the baking powder to the mixture and fold it in gently.

4) Dissolve the coffee in the boiling water and add to the mixture still folding. Divide into the sandwich tins and cook for 30 minutes.

Ingredients for icing:

  • 175g  white chocolate
  • 85g unsalted butter
  • 125g crème fraîche
  • 125g icing sugar, sifted.
  • 1 tbsp coffee liqueur or very strong black coffee
  • Cocoa powder, for dusting.

Method for icing:

1) For the icing, place the chocolate and butter in a bowl set over a saucepan of hot water and gently heat until melted. Remove from the heat, stir in the crème fraîche, then add the icing sugar and coffee liqueur and mix until smooth. Chill the frosting for at least 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until it becomes thick and glossy.

2) Use about on third or the icing to sandwich the cakes together. Spread the remainder over the top and sides, swirling with a palette knife. Leave to set then dust with cocoa powder before serving.

And finally Luke eating the first piece of the cake in the obligatory wide mouthed, I’ll fit it all in at once photo. hee hee x Sorry Luke but I had too and thanks for the photos x

12 thoughts on “Guest Photographer and Coffee cake!!

  1. I’ve just woken up so the brain’s not completely on the go yet, but the picture just before the shot of the icing being mixed, it looks to me like two things sandwiched together with jelly/preserve/jam. Which part of the process is this? The coffee cake already looks great, but if you’ve somehow worked jam in here too? I’m there and square.

    • Heehee……It is indeed jam!! Raspberry to be precise 🙂 Sorry I didn’t mention it in the method, poor show on my part!! But it would go in at the same time as the icing to hold the two cakes together!! Sorry x

Leave a Reply

