Billionaires Shortbread

I’ve upgraded todays baking exploit from the more basic Millionaires Shortbread because it turned out so well……..I am very pleased with the results xx

The recipe I followed was from M&S’s The Baking Bible

Ingredients

  • 115g butter, plus extra for greasing
  • 175g plain flour
  • 55g golden caster sugar

filling and topping

  • 175g butter
  • 115g golden caster sugar
  • 3 tbsp golden syrup
  • 400g canned condensed milk
  • 200g plain (I used milk) chocolate, broken into pieces

  1. Preheat the oven to 180○C/350○F/Gas Mark 4. Grease and line the base of a 23-cm/9-inch shallow square cake tin.
  2. Place the butter, flour and sugar in a food processor and process until it begins to bind together. Press the mixture into the prepared tin and smooth the top. Bake in the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes, or until golden.
  3. Meanwhile, make the filling. Place the butter, sugar, golden syrup and condensed milk in a saucepan and heat gently until the sugar has dissolved. Bring to the boil and simmer for 6-8 minutes, stirring constantly, until the mixture becomes very thick. Pour over the shortbread base and leave to chill in the refrigerator until firm.
  4. To make the topping, melt the chocolate and leave to cool, then spread over the caramel. Chill in the refrigerator until set. Cut the shortbread into 12 pieces with a sharp knife and serve.

Ok, so my waste line may increase a little this week, but it will be well worth it as these are so yummy!! I may manage to offload a few squares on some friends, but the majority is destined for my tummy xx Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm xx

10 thoughts on “Billionaires Shortbread

  1. We make a very similar caramel slice in Australia. Thanks for stopping by and following my blog, it’s been fun having an explore of your blog. You are a master confectionery maker

    • Awww thanks, but I am far from a master, I have only been baking for about a year now and every recipe I have posted is of my first ever attempts!! But I do love it, so I do hope to become a master one day x 🙂

  2. I’m going to send this to my sister. She spent a semester at St. Andrew’s and her favorite tea shop there got her (and the rest of us) hooked on m. shortbread. I love how it has appreciated in value here! Also, all the photos everywhere on here are beautiful.

    • Thanks a lot, do you know the name of the tea shop in St.Andrews? I’ve not been in them all yet, but I may have been in the same one xx Let me know how your sister gets on if she tries it for herself?! xx

  3. Hi Lucy, I love to experiment with candy making as well. I can’t wait to try this recipe. I noticed that you left a like on my original website in Jan on my wordpress site famfunadvisor. I have now found a new home and thought you might like to check me out again at famfunactivities.com Thanks! PS Love the pictures!

Leave a Reply

