Hazelnut Chocolate Macaroons

I thought I would make my first weekly attempt at a new home baking recipe on Tuesday evening as I mentioned here in my New year post!!

And it went really well, I think!!

They tasted amazing and were relatively easy and straight forward to make!! I think I could make them a lot better looking the next time (possibly a bigger baking tray so they were further apart would help as a few were touching by the time the were baked)

 

 

If you fancy giving them a go, then here is the recipe I used:

Makes 16

50g ground almonds

25g hazelnuts, finely ground, plus 1 tbsp chopped for decoration

115g icing sugar

2 large eggs

50g caster sugar

6 tbsp hazelnut and chocolate spread

  1. Place the ground almonds, ground hazelnuts and icing sugar in a food processor and process for 15 seconds. Sift the mixture into a bowl. Line two baking sheets with baking paper.
  2. Place the egg whites in a large bowl and whisk until holding soft peaks. Gradually whisk in the caster sugar until you have a firm, glossy meringue.
  3. Using a spatula, fold the almond mixture into the meringue one third at a time. When all the dry ingredients are thoroughly incorporated, continue to cut and fold the mixture until it forms a shiny batter with a thick, ribbon like consistency.
  4. Pour the mixture into a piping bag fitted with a 1 – cm plain nozzle. pipe 32 small rounds onto the prepared baking sheets. Tap the baking sheets firmly onto a work surface to remove air bubbles. Sprinkle over the chopped hazelnuts. Leave at room temperature for 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 160○C/325○F/Gas mark 3.
  5. Bake in a preheated oven for 10-15 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes, then carefully peel the macaroons off the baking paper. Leave to cool completely.
  6. Sandwich pairs of macaroons together with the hazelnut and chocolate spread.

I will definitely be making these again!! And I will also be trying many variations of the Macaroon in the future to find other flavours to go along side these!!

8 thoughts on “Hazelnut Chocolate Macaroons

  1. Oh wow, these macaroons look great! It’s good that you found the recipe easy, most do not! It took me quite a few attempts and when I finally got the macaroon I wanted I ended up not being too impressed with the sweetness (it was a raspberry macaroon, I should have known better!). Did you find these to be quite sweet? Did they keep their hazelnutty flavour well?

    • No they weren’t to sweet and they had just the right chewiness to them too!! You’ll have to send me the link to the Raspberry Macaroons they sound yummy x Or you’ll need to blog about them soon, so I can get it from there :o) x

  2. Pingback: My first Tea party! ♥ « A small insight

  3. Pingback: Practise makes perfect x « A small insight

Leave a Reply

